

PRESS RELEASE

NST Online, 16 July 2007

Dewan Negara: Six take oath as senators

FORMER Deputy Human Resources Minister Datuk Abdul Rahman Bakar and Puteri MIC chief J. Usha Nandhini were among six senators who took their oath of office yesterday.

The others new members of the Dewan Negara were <u>Tan Sri Tee Hock Seng</u>, Datuk Chandrasekar Suppiah, Datuk Ahmad Rusli Iberahim and Ahamat@Ahamad Yusop.

The swearing-in before Dewan Negara president Tan Sri Abdul Hamid Pawanteh was witnessed by other senators. Their two-year terms began yesterday.

Abdul Rahman, 56, the former MP for Marang and an Umno supreme council member, has a bachelor's degree in social science from Universiti Kebangsaan Malaysia.

He was a teacher from 1984 to 1986 before going into active politics. He defeated Pas president Datuk Seri Abdul Hadi Awang in the 1986 and 2004 general elections.

Usha, 36, a graduate in anthropology, sociology and history from Universiti Malaya, lectures at CQ-TEC College. She entered politics in 1990.

Tee, 59, is Cheras MCA division chairman and executive adviser to the Federal Territory MCA liaison committee. He is also active in several Chinese associations and non-governmental organisations.

Chandrasekar, 46, is a corporate figure. Among positions he has held are Bandar Tun Razak MIC division chairman and deputy chairman of the Federal Territory MIC liaison committee.

Ahmad Rusli, 50, is Kelantan Justices of the Peace Council vice-president, whereas Ahamat, 62, is a former political secretary to the Johor menteri besar and chairman of the Umno Kesang Tasek branch under the Ledang division. -- Bernama

For further enquiries, please contact :

Cik. Surati Sujor Corp Communications Dept **BINA PURI HOLDINGS BHD** Tel : 03-6136 3333 (3005) Fax : 03-6136 9999 E-mail : <u>surati@binapuri.com.my</u>